NAS Director and CEO Steven Alderton, NAS Fellow Euphemia Bostock, NAS Fellow Bernard Ollis

The National Art School Fellowship acknowledges the achievements of eminent visual artists, arts administrators, writers, advocates and academics who have made outstanding contributions to the visual arts community in Australia. The Fellowship is an honorary award for exceptional achievement and / or service within the professional domain, awarded annually by the National Art School.

The 2022 recipients of National Art School Fellowships have been announced, with the honour bestowed upon Euphemia Bostock and Bernard Ollis 

The 2022 Fellows were honoured at a celebratory dinner on Friday 27 May 2022, held at the Cell Block Theatre.

Presented at the annual Graduation ceremony alongside completing Bachelor, Master and Doctor of Fine Art students, the Fellowship is the School’s highest award.


Euphemia Bostock

Euphemia Bostock is a proud Munanjali-Bundjalung woman and Elder. Affectionately known as Phemie, she has worked across many mediums including textile, printmaking, design and sculpture from the early 1960s. Her work has been exhibited extensively in Australia and internationally. Her clothing designs were showcased in Paris at the Au Printemps Department Store exhibition Australis down under. Other exhibitions include the Museum of Sydney’s Bamaradbanga (to Make Open) in 1999 and Tactility: two centuries of Indigenous textiles and fibre at the National Gallery of Australia in 2003. Bostock’s works are held in the collections of the National Gallery of Australia, the Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences, and the National Museum of Australia.

The Possum Skin textile was collected by the National Gallery of Australia in 1988 and was exhibited in the New Indigenous Gallery, which opened in 2011.

As a sculptor, Bostock has collaborated with sculptor Jan Shaw, who was initially her teacher at the Sculptor Society 40 years ago. Their work Warawara Friendship Stone was commissioned by Macquarie University for their Sculpture Garden.

Bostock has exhibited extensively in Australia and internationally. She is currently the chairperson at Boomalli Aboriginal Artists Co-operative and continues to create inspiring works. Other career highlights include travelling to Paris in 1987 as a textile and fashion designer to having her work reproduced by Australia Post in 1999 for the Design Australia Stamp Series.


Bernard Ollis
Bernard Ollis lives and works between Sydney and Paris. He has had over 60 solo exhibitions since 1972, including at Macquarie Galleries (Sydney), Powell Street Galleries (Melbourne), Australian Galleries (Sydney and Melbourne), Stella Downer Fine Art (Sydney), and presently Harvey Galleries (Sydney). He has been a finalist in the Doug Moran Prize (Sydney), in addition to the Sulman and Dobell Prizes on several occasions at the Art Gallery of NSW. He has had major solo exhibitions throughout the world, including Cardiff, Bath, London, Paris, Berlin, London, Shanghai, Linyi and Auckland.

Ollis undertook a Royal College of Art residency at the Cite Internationale des Arts, Paris in 1974, and has been awarded numerous art prizes and awards, which have taken him to many parts of the world. This includes the John Minton International Painting Prize (1975), Sir Frederick Richards’ Travelling Scholarship (1977), an Australia Council Visual Arts Board Grant for a solo touring exhibition (1984-86), the Conrad Jupiters Award (2005, Gold Coast City Art Gallery), an artist studio residency at the Australian Embassy in Cairo (2008, on special invitation of the Australian Ambassador), artist in residence with Mawson’s Hut Foundation in Antarctica (2014), artist in residence in Zhouzhang province, China (2015), and a resident artist aboard ship to Spitzbergen in the Arctic (2019).

He is represented in over 20 public collections in Australia and the United Kingdom, including the Royal College of Art (London), the Commonwealth Institute (London), the National Gallery of Australia, the High Court of Western Australia, Parliament House (Canberra), the National Gallery of Victoria, Darwin Museum and Gallery and Queensland Art Gallery (Brisbane). Ollis was born in Bath, England, in 1951. He is a graduate of Cardiff College of Art and Design (Wales) and received his Master of Art (Painting) from the Royal College of Art (London), where he was tutored by David Hockney, R.B. Kitaj, and Sir Peter Blake amongst many others. He arrived in Australia in 1976 and lectured at Darwin Community College (now Charles Darwin University) and Bendigo CAE (now La Trobe University, Victoria), before being appointed Head of Painting at the National Art School (1996). He went on to become the Director of the National Art School (1997-2008).

Ollis is currently represented by Trevor Harvey Galleries, Seaforth, NSW, Linton & Kay Galleries, Perth, WA, Mitchell Fine Art, Brisbane, QLD, Aarwun Galleries, Canberra, ACT, 12 Gallery, Auckland, New Zealand, Penny Contemporary, Hobart, TAS, Falls Gallery, Wentworth Falls, NSW (prints and ceramics).

Since its inception in 2002, the National Art School Fellowship has been awarded to:

2002 Colin Lanceley AO
2003 Peter Rushforth AM
2004 John Coburn AM
2005 Geoffrey Bardon AM
2006 Elisabeth Cummings OAM
2007 Margaret Olley AC
2008 John Olsen AO OBE
2009 Bert Flugelman AM
2010 Thancoupie Gloria Fletcher James AO
2010 William Wright AM
2011 Guy Warren AM
2012 John Kaldor AO
2012 Fiona Hall AO
2013 Martin Sharp
2013 Frank Watters OAM
2014 Chris O’Doherty aka Reg Mombassa
2015 Susan Norrie
2015 Ann Thomson
2015 Ken Unsworth AM
2016 Vivienne Binns OAM
2016 Kevin Connor
2016 Janet Mansfield OAM
2017 Fiona Foley
2017 Peter Powditch AM
2017 Tim Storrier AM
2018 Michael Johnson
2018 Wendy Sharpe
2019 Roslyn Oxley OAM
2019 Wendy Whiteley OAM
2020 Not awarded
2021 Les Blakebrough AM
2021 Margaret Fink
2022 Euphemia Bostock
2022 Bernard Ollis

#Follow us on Instagram