2021 NAS Awards Recipients

2021 NAS Awards Recipients

On Thursday 10 February, the National Art School celebrated the achievements and success of our students through awarding of prizes and scholarships. We would like to congratulate the award recipients for their hard work, and thank our lecturers and technicians for their outstanding dedication and commitment to each and every student.

All of the prizes and scholarships awarded have been generously provided by our benefactors and sponsors, and we also thank you for your support.

Major Awards

Bird Holcomb Foundation Scholarship
Sophie Horne

Mark Henry Cain Memorial Travel Scholarship
Alice Xu

East Sydney Doctors Scholarship
Sadhbha Cockburn

Clitheroe Foundation Scholarship
Harry de Vries

National Art School Aboriginal Art Centre Internship
Aarone Neill and Charlie Komsic

Standish & Co Scholarship
Samantha Jade

James Ballaam Elsley Memorial Prize
Drawing: Aaron McGarry
Painting: Brodie Cullen

Tweed Regional Gallery
Susie Dureau

Lift Off
Luca Blasonato

Art History

Brandon Trakman Prize
Laura Bishop and Harry de Vries


Sabbia Gallery Exhibition Prize
Susie Choi

Parkers Sydney Fine Art Ceramic Award
Sebastian Mills

Kil.n.It Award
Charlotte Komsic and Sebastian Conti

N.E. Pethebridge Award
BFA: Susie Choi
MFA: Sibylla Robertson

Matilda Kubany-Deane Memorial Prize
Nathan Hale

Australian Ceramics Association Prize
Lydia Sidarta and Tasio Sclavenitis


Parkers Sydney Fine Art Drawing Award
Anna Mould

John Olsen Prize for Drawing (Highly Commended)
Sadie Whelan

John Olsen Prize for Drawing
Georgina de Manning

The Bonner and Tonkin Drawing Prize
Amelia Skelton

Anne Pata Memorial Drawing Award
Susana Vazquez

Kaye Shumack Sunflower Drawing Prize
Luke Thurgate


Parkers Sydney Fine Art Painting Award
Skye Bakhos

Derivan Award for Mixed Media
Sophie Horne

Parkers Sydney Fine Art Framing Award
Dylan Newling

Derivan Award for Excellence
Lesley Wengembo

Trenna Austin Gallery Prize for Abstract Painting
Alison Anderson

Troy Quinliven Exhibition Award
Alice Xu

Richard Lucchese Abstract Painting Prize
Sara Mugnes


Kayell Australia Photography Award
Natasha Hollen

Joel Corrigan Memorial Photography Award
Samantha Jade


Artscene Printmaking Prize
Charlotte Featherstone and Isabella Kennedy

Parkers Sydney Fine Art Printmaking Award
Bella La Spina

Ellen Lee O’Shaughnessy Printmaking Award
Jake Starr and Emilee Robinson

Megalo Studio and Gallery Residency Award
Shani Black

Gallery Lane Cove + Creative Studios Printmaking Award
Harry de Vries


Parkers Sydney Fine Art Sculpture Award
Aaron McGarry

Sculpture by the Sea Prize
April Gales and Savannah Van Der Veer

Dr John Vallance Prize for Sculpture
Susann Taylor and George Squires

KNULP Exhibition Prize
Aarone Neill

Open Awards

NAVA Ignition Prize for Professional Practice
Jeni Mulvey

Studio W doubleyou Exhibition Prize
Sadie Whelan

The Squatters Residency
TC Overson and Lewis Doherty

Dominik Mersch Gallery Award
Nina Walton

#Follow us on Instagram